The Bearded Iris

A Recalcitrant Wife and Mother Tells All

You better believe it.

I was wracking my brain to come up with a fabulous, life-altering tip I could share with you for my Just The Tip Tuesday feature today. And then I remembered this really charming motivational slogan and table scape I spied the other day at Kelly Is Inspired:

Check out the rest of her blog too! http://kellyisinspired.blogspot.com/

Cheese and crackers, I love those colors and textures together. Some people just have an eye for that kind of thing. And by some people, I mean not me. Sigh. I decorate like I parent… with a loud voice and a lot of apologies.

Anyhoo, those sassy pink Chucks reminded me of the very same ones my darling Mini-Me (formerly known as Klepto) wore and destroyed in less than 24 hours.

before

after

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Which then got me thinking about what a passionate and intensely committed child my Mini-Me is, in every part of her life. We’re talking balls-to-the-wall, that girl.

And that’s when I remembered going through her school papers last week and finding this:

“I can Do it!”

It’s the back of her weekly timed math facts test. Just in case you can’t see the picture, it says in very neatly printed 2nd grader handwriting “I can Do it!” And it is circled for emphasis.

I didn’t teach her to do that. What, with all the shouting, and apologizing, and bad decorating – who has time to teach life skills?

So I asked her, “Honey? What’s this on the back of your test?”

And she said, very nonchalantly, “Oh, I just felt like writing it.”

“Where did you learn to do that?” I asked, thinking she must have copied it off someone else’s paper.

“Nowhere. It just came to me,” she replied.

So I enthused: “That is SO cool! Do you think it helped?”

“Shhhhya-ah! Look at my score! It was my highest ever!” (Like, duh Mom, totally.)

And I thought to myself: that is one awesome kid. At the tender age of eight, she already knows one of the secrets to the universe:

Whether you believe you can do a thing or not, you are right.
~ Henry Ford

Hot damn, I want to be just like her when I grow up.

Just with cleaner shoes.

Believe and achieve! Your friend,

-Iris

© Copyright 2011, The Bearded Iris.

5 comments on “You better believe it.

  1. Joanne
    March 1, 2011

    another great post. I am thinking, “out of the mouth of babes” and wondering how a 2nd grader ‘gets it’ and I often struggle? Thanks for another thought provoking post, most appropriate as today is my big 5-5-stutter-as-I-say-it-birthday and I am commiting (at least today) to be happier, healthier (read: thinner) and wiser starting tomorrow!

    • The Bearded Iris
      March 1, 2011

      Happy Birthday Joanne! I hear 55 is the new 35. Oh wait… that was the year I got my first crown. I still can’t chew on that side of my mouth. Damn 30s.

      Yes, my little girl is pretty special, that’s for sure. She must get it from her daddy… whoever THAT is. (Kidding hon. You know you my baby daddy 3x!).

  2. Sue
    March 1, 2011

    Yessssss!!!!! Good job ‘rent’ for allowing her to ‘grow that way’….

  3. Deanne
    March 2, 2011

    That is awesome Iris! Just awesome! Self talk is so vital to our outcomes, ya know? I wanna be like her when I grow up too!

  4. Kate Takes 5
    March 2, 2011

    Love this!

Leave a comment